Author Topic: Chapter 19  (Read 5381 times)

Offline Daen

• Administrator
  • We Don't Care
Chapter 19
« on: June 10, 2022, 04:57:58 AM »
Chapter 19

Jia's image faded into nothingness, and the four of them just stared at where she'd been. Her message had only lasted a few minutes, but sometimes that's all it took to change someone's life. Or everyone's lives, if what she'd said was true.

Eddie was the first to react. "This is a joke, right? She's playing a prank on us. A really, really hilarious prank if enough people believe her."

"You might be right," Beb said, moving back over to the exciter and examining it. "I'm no physics expert, but what she described doesn't seem possible. It's just not how the exciter field works."

"But none of us know exactly how it works," Tin put in, sounding overwhelmed, but also exhilarated at the same time. "All the exciters were manufactured and distributed by AFI, under her direction. She knew more about them than anyone alive today. She might be right about this!"

Margo supposed it was possible. She was reminded of the Community—or at least their policy of having their homes constantly recorded and available for anyone to see. Only this was so much bigger than just a Community of trusting idiots!

Part of her even wanted to believe what Jia had said, but they needed proof. "Beb, could you design and build an exciter from scratch so that we can test this? To see if she was telling the truth or not."

Beb shook her head. "Not a chance. Even if I could find the right materials, I wouldn't know where to start. The only way to test it is to find an exciter that's already had its trigger unlocked. Jia probably had the only one in existence, if there even was one."