Author Topic: DM25 The Power of Cryptocurrencies  (Read 8909 times)

Offline Daen

• Administrator
  • We Don't Care
DM25 The Power of Cryptocurrencies
« on: March 18, 2022, 07:17:17 AM »
Musing 25 The Power of Cryptocurrencies

I don't know if you're the kind of person who's into cryptocurrencies, but I have very little personal experience with them. I first heard about them back in 2014, when most everyone started talking about Bitcoin. The craze sort of died down after that, but it's come back with a vengeance in recent years.

If you know my work at all, you can probably guess how I feel about this. If you don't, I won't spoil the surprise. I will however, use an analogy that hopefully will reach a large portion of you. I like video games.

I started out with the old NES and Gameboy, and eventually graduated to computer games in high school and college. I was terrible at first-person shooters, so I avoided them after Halo. I loved strategy games, and still do, especially ones with compelling stories backing them. I didn't really get into sandbox games until very recently, though.

In a sandbox game, the most notable example being Minecraft, the world is procedurally generated. That is, it creates the world around your character AS you explore that world. It doesn't bother having the whole thing mapped out before you get started, because most players won't explore any more than a tiny fraction of that world. Kind of like the real one, when you think about it.