Author Topic: DM7 The Main Cause of Suffering  (Read 7163 times)

Offline Daen

• Administrator
  • We Don't Care
DM7 The Main Cause of Suffering
« on: December 21, 2021, 04:32:40 AM »
Daen's Musings #7: The Main Cause of Suffering

So I've been thinking for a while about why we have so much suffering in our world. I can't believe that it's necessary, so I have to consider where it came from. The following Musings will be about what I believe to be the basic cause for why we are so evil to each other.

The first Musing is about capitalism.

I know, I know, the word itself triggers strong reactions in a lot of people. I should start with a blanket disclaimer: I am not an economist. I have zero experience or training in financial matters. All of this is based on my observations of people I know, and the political system in which I live. I am not claiming to be any kind of expert on any of this. Here goes.

From my basic understanding, the whole goal of people living in a capitalist system is to use their money (capital) to get more money. They invest money in some kind of venture, in the hopes that the venture will be able to 'pay off' and get them more money than the original amount spent. These people's objective is to make money, and it's the only objective that matters in the slightest within a capitalist system.

Ok, that sounds pretty straightforward so far.

How did capitalism get started? From what I've read, around the time the French Revolution started, monarchs and lords all over Europe were beginning to realize that monarchies themselves were pretty much doomed. A bunch of philosophers and advisors to those monarchs got together, and decided to come up with a new system. They wanted a way to keep the power with a small group of people, but move away from the dying 'kingdom system' before it took them down with it. The idea of a rule by the people, like the new American system, was only a few years old, and hadn't really taken hold in Europe yet.